New Horizons

The Energy Transformation Strategy is the Government's work program to ensure the delivery of secure, reliable, sustainable and affordable electricity to Western Australian's for years to come. Stephen Edwell, Chair of the Energy Transportation Strategy Taskforce will present on key points of the strategy and importantly the action plan for implementation. He will be joined by Jason Waters, Chief Executive Officer will discuss Synergy’s role in the state’s energy transformation.

Meet our speakers and panellists

Stephen Edwell Image
Stephen Edwell

Chair, Energy Transformation Strategy Taskforce

Mr Edwell is an Economist specialising in energy market regulation and design. He has held various senior appointments in Federal and State Governments across Australia, including responsibility for the implementation of large-scale market reforms. He played a lead role in Queensland joining the National Electricity Market, and in designing and implementing the Wholesale Electricity Market in Western Australia.

Mr Edwell has been a senior member of energy regulatory Boards in Australia since 2005, including the Economic Regulation Authority, the Australian Energy Regulator and the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission.

More recently, Mr Edwell was Chair of State-owned electricity utility Horizon Power.

Jason Waters Image
Jason Waters

Chief Executive Officer, Synergy

Jason has served as the chief executive officer of Synergy since January 2014 and prior to that he was the CEO of Verve Energy for two years.

Synergy is Western Australia’s largest electricity generator and retailer with a diverse range of power generating assets located throughout the South West Interconnected System and has in excess of one million residential and business customers.

Jason holds a Bachelor of Engineering and a Graduate Diploma of Business from Curtin University and has a background in fuel and electricity contract negotiation, project development and delivery and infrastructure asset management.

Acknowledgement of Country

The Committee For Perth acknowledges the traditional custodians throughout Western Australia and their continuing connection to the land, waters and community. We pay our respects to all members of the Aboriginal communities and their cultures; and to Elders both past and present.